Your Ego Is Not Your Amigo

Camille Nguyen
3 min readSep 3, 2023

I was recently invited to join an online group of individuals who shared a passion for personal growth and development. Naturally, I agreed to the invitation, as I’m always intrigued by other people. I knew this would be a valuable opportunity for me to learn and grow.

It took me a day or so to muster the motivation to join this online community. I wondered what I was getting myself into, diving into other people’s scenarios while still dealing with my own daily issues. After all, we all have things we shove aside, only to deal with them later. But this is a place to release or journal those thoughts. A place to perhaps find some inspiration or self-identify.

I quickly realized that this was not the place for me. I have things to say and to let out. Stuff about life and what I personally struggle with daily. I have a PhD in all matters of life, and I have words to share. I’m not looking to be healed. I’ve already done that. I’m past those days and rarely speak of it. I know I will never have all the answers, but I’m not looking for that. I’m just looking for someone to listen.

As I read through the profiles and posts on this “self-discovery” page, I was nauseated by the self-promotion, self-importance, and arrogance of the members. I took a step back and reassured myself that this group was not for me. I reached out to my friend who sent the…

--

--

Camille Nguyen

Dreamer, Hopeless Romantic & Realist who still believes in true love & compassion. Heartbreak led me here. Here is where I heal.